Welcome


 
 
 

Let me welcome you in my capacity as the Chairman of the XVIIth Conference of European Constitutional Courts!

As decided by the Preparatory Meeting of the Presidents of September 2012 in Vienna, the Constitutional Court of Georgia took over the presidency of the XVIIth Congress of the Conference of European Constitutional Courts. Consequently, in 2014-2017, all the high-level events including the Congress of the European Constitutional Courts will be held in Batumi – the hometown of the Constitutional Court of Georgia. We are proud that during the past 20 years Georgia is the first non-EU member state to hold the presidency of the Congress.

Bearing in mind the fact that Georgia has a lasting history of legal culture, the Constitution of Georgia derives from the centuries-old tradition of statehood and the fundamental principles of the 1921 Constitution of Georgia. The Constitutional Court of Georgia is the judicial body of constitutional review, which ensures the observance of constitutional provisions, separation of powers as well as protection of human rights and freedoms, recognized and guaranteed by the Constitution. The Constitutional Court of Georgia maintains tight contacts with relevant local and international stakeholders and remains engaged in numerous initiatives and will continue to do so in the future.

The Constitutional Court of Georgia became a full member of the Conference of the Constitutional Courts in 2000 in Brussels. The same year full membership was granted to the Constitutional Courts of the Republic of Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Latvia, Luxemburg, Republic of Moldova and Ukraine.

Starting from 1972 CECC has been headed by the Constitutional Court of Yugoslavia, the Federal Constitutional Court of Germany, the Constitutional Court of Italy, the Constitutional Court of Austria , the Swiss Federal Supreme Court, the Constitutional Tribunal of Spain, the Constitutional Tribunal of Portugal, the Constitutional Court of Turkey , the Constitutional Council of France, the Constitutional Court of Hungary, the Constitutional Tribunal of Poland, the Constitutional Court of Belgium, the Supreme Court of Cyprus, the Constitutional Court of Lithuania, the Constitutional Court of Romania and the Constitutional Court of Austria.

The Constitutional Court of Georgia has extended invitations to the presidents of the member courts of the Conference for the XVIIth Circle of Presidents to be held in Batumi on 9–11 September, 2015 where the participating presidents will decide on the organizational framework for the next Congress. After the first meeting in Dubrovnik in 1972, followed by conferences held in Baden-Baden, Rome, Lausanne, Madrid, Lisbon, Ankara, Paris, Budapest, Warsaw, Brussels, Nicosia, Vilnius, Bucharest and Vienna, in 2015 the full members of 41 countries, will be cordially welcomed to Batumi.

Batumi, with its convenient geographic location, historical significance and developing infrastructure is ready to host the Presidents of European Constitutional Courts and other similar European institutions "exercising constitutional jurisdiction with a view to sharing experience as regards constitutional practice and jurisprudence in a general European context and to maintaining regular contacts between these courts and institutions", as stated in the preamble of the Statute of the CECC adopted in 1999 in Warsaw.

I wish all of you success in achieving our common goal - espousing democratic, rule of law based societies – ensured through the protection of constitutional provisions and upholding of universally recognized human rights and freedoms. 

I am looking forward to our discussions and am delighted to host all of you in beautiful Batumi.

Zaza Tavadze
President of the Constitutional Court of Georgia

Bienvenue


 

Permettez-moi de vous saluer en tant que Président du XVIIe Congrès de la Conférence des Cours Constitutionnelles Européennes.

Sur la décision prise à la réunion préparatoire des Présidents en septembre 2012 à Vienne, la Cour Constitutionnelle de la Géorgie s’est chargée de la présidence du XVIIe Congrès de la Conférence des Cours Constitutionnelles Européennes. Par conséquent, toutes les réunions du haut niveau 2014-2017, y compris le Congrès de la Conférence des Cours Constitutionnelles Européennes se tiendront à Batoumi, siège de la Cour Constitutionnelle de la Géorgie. Nous sommes fiers du fait, que pendant ces dernières vingt années la Géorgie est devenue la première parmi les pays non-membres de l’UE qui s’est vue confier la présidence du Congrès.
Etant donné que la Géorgie dispose d’une ancienne histoire de la culture légale, la Constitution de la Géorgie s’appuie sur la tradition séculaire de la structure de l’Etat, ainsi que sur les principes fondamentaux de la Constitution du 1921. La Cour Constitutionnelle de la Géorgie est un organe judiciaire du contrôle constitutionnel, appelé à garantir les principes constitutionnels, la séparation des pouvoirs, ainsi que la protection des droits et libertés déclarés et garantis par la Constitution. La Cour Constitutionnelle de la Géorgie entretient des contacts étroits avec des partenaires locaux et internationaux et participe aux nombreuses initiatives qu’elle envisage poursuivre dans l’avenir.

La Cour Constitutionnelle de la Géorgie est devenue membre à part entière de la Conférence des Cours Constitutionnelles Européennes en 2000 à Bruxelles. La même année les Cours Constitutionnelles de la République d’Arménie, Azerbaïdjan, Bosnie-Herzégovine, Lettonie, Luxembourg, la République de Moldova et Ukraine ont reçu le statut des membres à part entière.

Depuis1972 la Conférence des Cours Constitutionnelles Européennes était présidée respectivement par la Cour Constitutionnelle de Yougoslavie, Cour constitutionnelle fédérale d’Allemagne, Cour constitutionnelle d’Italie, Cour constitutionnelle d’Autriche, Tribunal fédéral suisse, Tribunal constitutionnel d’Espagne, Tribunal constitutionnel du Portugal, Cour constitutionnelle de Turquie, Conseil constitutionnel français, Cour constitutionnelle d’Hongrie, Tribunal constitutionnel de Pologne, Cour constitutionnelle de Belgique, Cour suprême de Chypre, Cour constitutionnelle de Lituanie, Cour constitutionnelle de Roumanie et Cour constitutionnelle d’Autriche.

La Cour Constitutionnelle de la Géorgie a invité les Présidents des Cours membres de la Conférence au XVIIe « Cercles des Présidents » qui se tiendra du 9 au 11 septembre 2015 à Batoumi, où les Présidents prendront les décisions concernant l’organisation du prochain Congrès. Après la première réunion qui a eu lieu à Dubrovnik en 1972, suivie des conférences à Baden-Baden, Rome, Lausanne, Madrid, Lisbonne, Ankara, Paris, Budapest, Varsovie, Bruxelles, Nicosie, Vilnius, Bucarest et Vienne , en 2015 les membres à part entière de la Conférence représentant 41 pays seront cordialement accueillis à Batoumi.

Batoumi avec sa bonne situation géographique, sa riche histoire et infrastructure en développement, est prêt à accueillir les Présidents des Cours Constitutionnelles Européennes et d’autres Institutions Européennes analogues « chargées de veiller au respect de la Constitution, en vue d'échanger, dans un contexte européen global, leurs expériences en matière de pratique et de jurisprudence constitutionnelles, ainsi que d'entretenir des contacts réguliers entre elles», comme s’est déclaré au Préambule des Statuts de la Conférence des Cours Constitutionnelles Européennes, adoptés en 1999 à Varsovie.

Permettez-moi de vous souhaiter du succès dans notre objectif commun – essor et renforcement des sociétés démocratiques basées sur l’état de droit, ce qui est assuré par la protection des principes constitutionnels et le soutien des droits et libertés de l’homme universellement reconnus.

C’est avec plaisir que j’attends le début de nos discussions et je suis extrêmement heureux de pouvoir vous accueillir dans cette belle ville de Batoumi.

 

Zaza Tavadze
Président de la Cour Constitutionnelle de la Géorgie